Backstage Rally Sweden.

The Rally Sweden is only ever won by the Scandinavians – or the French.

What a classic. The Rally Sweden has been around for 66 years. There have been 63 races since 1950 and since then – owing to the mix of snow and ice on the course – it has mostly been won by the Scandinavians. More precisely, there have been 39 Swedes, 20 Finns and one Norwegian. It is a clear-cut case: if you’re not a Viking, you don’t stand a chance.

Or maybe not. Anyone who was counting will notice that the above list is not quite right. That only adds up to 60 winners from 63 rallies. There are three wins missing, achieved by two Frenchmen. Sébastien Loeb was the very first non-Scandinavian to win in Sweden in 2004; in 2013 and 2015 Sébastien Ogier stood on the top spot of the podium in Sweden in the Polo R WRC.

His Finnish team colleague Jari-Matti Latvala has been victorious three times in the far north. In 2008 he won the icy rally for the first time and has remained the youngest rally winner of all time ever since. He and his co-driver Miikka Anttila were able to repeat their success in 2012, two years later they celebrated their first victory in the Polo R WRC. However, the most successful driver in Sweden is – unsurprisingly a Swede. Between 1970 and 1984 Stig Blomqvist won the rally an incredible seven times. Why not see for yourself.